Poem

Song

When I am dead, my dearest,
Sing no sad songs for me:;
Plant thou no roses at my head,
Nor shady cypress tree:
Be the green grass above me
With showers and dewdrops wet;
And if thou wilt, remember,
And If thou wilt, forget.

I shall not see the shadows,
I shall not feel the rain;
I shall not hear the nightingale
Sing on, as if in pain;
And dreaming through the twilight
That doth not rise nor set,
Haply I may remember,
And haply may forget.

Christina Rossetti

これはクリスティーナ・ロセッティが18歳の時に作った詩です。死が歌われていますが暗い感じではなく、青春の一時期誰もが死への憧れをもつ、そんな青春の歌です。

Christina Rossetti wrote this poem when she was still 18 years old. This poem sings about death, but we probably don’t have dark feelings. When we are young, everybody must yearn for death. As such, this can be described as a song of youth.画像

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

