A Poem…

A Red, Red Rose

My love is like a red, red rose
That’s newly sprung in June:
My love is like the melody
That’s sweetly played in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonnie lass,
So deep in love am I:
And I will love thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry.

Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun:
And I will love thee still, my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.

And fare thee weel, my only love,
And face thee weel a while!
And I will come again, my love,
Thou’ it were ten thousand mile.

Robert Burns

い薔薇

俺の恋人よ、お前は赤い薔薇だ、
六月にぱっと咲いた赤い薔薇だ。
お前はまるで甘い音楽だ、
見事に奏でられた甘い音楽だ。

お前の美しさに負け

まいと、
俺の恋も命がけ、おお、俺の可愛い恋人よ!
いつまでも俺の心は変わりはしない、
たとえ海という海が干上がろうと。

たとえ海という海が干上がろうと、
たとえ岩という岩が太陽に溶けようと、
俺の心は変わりはしない、いつまでも、
そうだ、俺の命がある限り、-おお恋人よ!

さようなら、俺のたった一人の恋人よ、
ちょっとの間だ、さようなら!
俺は必ず戻ってくる、おお、俺の恋人よ、
千里の彼方からでも戻ってくる!

ロバート・バーンズ;平井正穂訳

ロバート・バーンズはスコットランドの国民詩人で、農業をやりながら詩を書きました。ケルトの方言で詩が書かれているので読みづらいかもしれませんが、単純だが人生の真実を描写した彼の詩は英文学で確かな地位を占めています。

Robert Burns is a Scotch national poet. He wrote many poems while he was engaged in agriculture. His poems are written in Celtic dialect, so that they may be hard to understand at first. However, his simple but truthful poems
givehim a firm position in the history of English literature.Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

